Petroglyphs

The earliest ancestors of the Kirghiz people, who are believed to be of mixed Mongol and Kipchak descent, probably settled until the 10th century around what is now the Tuva region of the Russian Federation. With the rise of the Mongol Empire in the 13th century, the Kyrgyz migrated south. They did not emerge as a distinct ethnic group until the 15th century. Various Turkic peoples ruled them until 1685, when they came under the control of the Kalmyks (Oirats, Dzungars). Islam is the predominant religion in the region, and most of the Kyrgyz are Sunni Muslims of the Hanafi school.

In the early 19th century, the southern territory of today's Kyrgyzstan came under the control of the Khanate of Kokand, and the territory was formally incorporated into the Russian Empire in 1876. The Russian takeover instigated numerous revolts against tsarist authority, and many of the Kyrgyz opted to move to the Pamirs and Afghanistan. In addition, the suppression of the 1916 rebellion in Central Asia caused many Kyrgyz to migrate to China.

Soviet power was initially established in the region in 1919, and the Kara-Kirghiz Autonomous Oblast was created within the Russian SFSR (the term Kara-Kirghiz was used until the mid-1920s by the Russians to distinguish them from the Kazakhs, who were also referred to as Kirghiz). On December 5, 1936, the Kirghiz Soviet Socialist Republic (SSR) was established as a full Union Republic of the USSR.

During the 1920s, Kyrgyzstan developed considerably in cultural, educational, and social life. Literacy was greatly improved, and a standard literary language was introduced. Economic and social development also was notable. Many aspects of the Kyrgyz national culture were retained despite the suppression of nationalist activity under Stalin, and, therefore, tensions with the all-Union authorities were constant.

The early years of glasnost had little effect on the political climate in Kyrgyzstan. However, the Republic's press was permitted to adopt a more liberal stance and to establish a new publication, Literaturny Kirghizstan, by the Union of Writers. Unofficial political groups were forbidden, but several groups that emerged in 1989 to deal with the acute housing crisis were permitted to function.

In June 1990, ethnic tensions between Uzbeks and Kyrgyz surfaced in the Osh Oblast, where Uzbeks form a majority of the population. Violent confrontations ensued, and a state of emergency and curfew were introduced. Order was not restored until August.

The early 1990s brought measurable change to Kyrgyzstan. By then, the Kyrgyzstan Democratic Movement (KDM) had developed into a significant political force with support in Parliament. In an upset victory, Askar Akayev, the liberal President of the Kyrgyz Academy of Sciences, was elected to the Presidency in October 1990. The following January, Akayev introduced new government structures and appointed a new government comprised mainly of younger, reform-oriented politicians.

In December 1990 the Supreme Soviet voted to change the republic's name to the Republic of Kyrgyzstan. (In 1993, it became the Kyrgyz Republic.) In February 1991, the name of the capital, Frunze, was changed back to its prerevolutionary name of Bishkek. The Kyrgyz language replaced Russian as the official language in September 1991. (Kyrgyz is a member of the Southern Turkic group of languages and was written in the Arabic alphabet until the 20th century. Latin script was introduced and adopted in 1928, and was subsequently replaced by Cyrillic in 1941.) Despite these aesthetic moves toward independence, economic realities seemed to work against secession from the U.S.S.R. In a referendum on the preservation of the U.S.S.R. in March 1991, 88.7% of the voters approved the proposal to retain the U.S.S.R. as a "renewed federation."

On August 19, 1991, when the State Emergency Committee assumed power in Moscow, there was an attempt to depose Akayev in Kyrgyzstan. After the coup had collapsed the following week, Akayev and Vice President German Kuznetsov announced their resignations from the Communist Party Soviet Union (CPSU), and the entire bureau and secretariat resigned. This was followed by the Supreme Soviet vote declaring independence from the USSR on August 31, 1991.

In October 1991, Akayev ran unopposed and was elected president of the new independent Republic by direct ballot, receiving 95% of the votes cast. Together with the representatives of seven other Republics that same month, he signed the Treaty of the New Economic Community. Finally, on December 21, 1991, Kyrgyzstan joined with the other four Central Asian Republics to formally enter the new Commonwealth of Independent States. In 1992, Kyrgyzstan joined the UN and the CSCE.

Current concerns in Kyrgyzstan include: privatization of state-owned enterprises, expansion of democracy and political freedoms, inter-ethnic relations, and terrorism.

Petroglyphs

Самые ранние предки кыргызского народа, который, как считается, произошел  от ассимиляции монгольских и кыпчакских народов, вероятно, вплоть до 10 века занимали территорию, где в настоящее время находятся Тува и Россия. С ростом Монгольской империи в 13 веке, кыргызы мигрировали на юг. Они не являлись отдельной этнической группой вплоть до 15-го века. Различные тюркские народы правили ими до 1685 года, после этого они перешли под контроль калмыков (ойратов, джунгар). Ислам является доминирующей религией в регионе, и большинство кыргызов являются мусульманами-суннитами.

В начале 19-го века, южная территория Кыргызстана перешла под контроль Кокандского ханства, и территория была официально включена в состав России в 1876 году. Русское вторжение спровоцировало многочисленные восстания против царской власти, и многие из кыргызов решили перейти на Памир и в Афганистан. Кроме того, подавление восстания 1916 года в Средней Азии заставила многих кыргызов мигрировать в Китай.

Советская власть в регионе впервые была установлена в 1919 году, тогда как Кара-Киргизская автономная область вошла в состав русской РСФСР (термин Кара-Киргизская автономная область использовался до середины 1920-х годов русскими, чтобы отличить их от казахов, которых тоже называли кыргызами). 5 декабря 1936 года, Киргизская Советская Социалистическая Республика (ССР) была создана в качестве полноправной республики Союза СССР.

В 1920-е, Кыргызстан получил значительное развитие в культурной, образовательной и общественной жизни. Уровень грамотности населения значительно повысился и был введен стандартный литературный язык. Экономическое и социальное развитие также было заметным. Многие аспекты кыргызской национальной культуры были сохранены, несмотря на подавление националистической активности при Сталине, и, следовательно, постоянно наблюдалась напряженность в отношениях с всесоюзной властью.

Первые годы гласности мало влияют на политический климат в Кыргызстане. Тем не менее, прессе республики было разрешено принять более либеральную позицию и создать новую публикацию, Литературный Кыргызстан, в Союз писателей. Неофициальные политические группы были запрещены, но нескольким группам, которые появились в 1989 году для борьбы с остро вставшим вопросом о  жилищном кризисе было разрешено работать.

В июне 1990 года, этническая напряженность между узбеками и киргизами возникла в Ошской области, где узбеки составляют большую часть населения. Последовали ожесточенные столкновения и в регионе было введено чрезвычайное положение и комендантский час. Порядок был восстановлен только к августу этого же года.

Начало 1990-х годов принесло ощутимые изменения в Кыргызстане. К тому времени, демократическое движение Кыргызстана (KDM) превратилось в значительную политическую силу, с поддержкой в парламенте. Аскар Акаев, либеральный Президент Кыргызской академии наук, был избран на пост президента в октябре 1990 года. В январе следующего года, Акаев ввел новые государственные структуры и назначил новое правительство, состоящее в основном из молодых, ориентированных на реформы политиков.

В декабре 1990 года Верховный Совет проголосовал за изменение названия республики в Республику Кыргызстан. (В 1993 году он стал Кыргызской Республикой.) В феврале 1991 года, столице Кыргызстана, городу Фрунзе, было возвращено его старое название - Бишкек. Кыргызский язык заменил русский в качестве официального языка в сентябре 1991 года, (кыргызский язык относится к южной группе тюркских языков, до 20-го века письменность базировалась на арабском алфавите, латиница была введена и принята в 1928 году и впоследствии была заменена кириллицей в 1941 году). Несмотря на эти эстетические движется к независимости, экономические реалии, казалось, работали против отделения от СССР в референдуме о сохранении СССР в марте 1991 года, 88,7% избирателей одобрили предложение сохранить СССР как «обновленной федерацией».

19 августа 1991 года, когда ГКЧП пришла к власти в Москве, была предпринята попытка сместить Акаева в Кыргызстане. После переворота, рухнувшего на следующей неделе, Акаев и вице-президент, немец Кузнецов, объявили о своей отставке от Коммунистической партии Советского Союза (КПСС), и все бюро и секретариат подали в отставку. Следом последовало голосование Верховного Совета: объявить независимость от СССР от 31 августа 1991 года.

В октябре 1991 года Акаев был избран президентом новой независимой республики путем прямого голосования, получив 95% голосов. Вместе с представителями семи других республик в том же месяце он подписал договор Нового Экономического Сообщества. Наконец, 21 декабря 1991 года Кыргызстан присоединился с четырьмя другими Центрально-азиатскими республиками, в сообществе с которыми, было создано новое Содружество Независимых Государств. В 1992 году Кыргызстан присоединился к ООН и ОБСЕ.

Текущие проблемы в Кыргызстане включают в себя: приватизация государственных предприятий, расширение демократии и политических свобод, и в области образовании.